Bangladesh parliament to discuss Rohingya issue

DHAKA (The Daily Star/ANN) - Separate discussions will take place in the ongoing 18th session of parliament on Unesco's recognition of Bangabandhu's historic March 7 speech, Rohingya issue, and the 63rd Commonwealth Parliamentary Association conference.

The Business Advisory Committee of the Jatiya Sangsad (JS) set the agenda during a meeting at the parliament yesterday.

With Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina told the meeting that the historic speech of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was the main driving force of the nation because through his speech the father of the nation had given instructions for guerrilla fighting and called for economic freedom.

Pointing to the Rohingya issue, the prime minister said Bangladesh had opened up a "new door of humanity" by giving shelter to Rohingyas, which was lauded worldwide, according to a release of the parliament secretariat.

Hasina also praised all concerned, especially Speaker Shirin Sharmin, for successfully holding the 63rd CPA conference in Dhaka from November 1 to 8.

The House will discuss the three issues on different dates, but the dates and time of the discussions were not finalised yet.

Unesco on October 30 declared Bangabandhu's March 7 speech as a part of the world's documentary heritage.

On this day in 1971, the father of the nation called on the freedom-loving Bangalees to wage a decisive struggle against the Pakistani rulers. The speech had set the tone for the Liberation War that would officially begin on March 26.

The Business Advisory Committee also decided that the current session of parliament, which began yesterday, would continue till November 23, on 10 working days. However, the Speaker can increase or decrease the length of this session.

At the beginning of yesterday's sitting, Speaker Shirin Sharmin nominated a five-member panel of chairmen for the 18th session of the 10th Jatiya Sangsad.

They would preside over the parliamentary sittings in the given hierarchical order in absence of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker.

The panel members are: Maj (retd) Rafiqul Islam, AB Tajul Islam, Abdul Mannan, Ziaul Haque Mrida, and Joya Sengupta.


No photos has been attached.