Cambodia’s 6th Legislature of the National Election Kicks Off

PHNOM PENH (Rasmei Kampuchea Daily/ ANN) - The 6th legislature of the National Election on July 29, 2018 was held this morning at 22,967 polling stations in 25 provinces/a capital from 7:00 am to 3:00 pm.

The polling stations open for 8.38 million eligible voters under witness of 79,612 local observers from 112 institutions and 538 international observers from 70 institutions and foreign embassies in Cambodia, up from some 40,000 and 243, respectively in the previous mandate, as well as 79,849 political agents from 14 out of 20 registered political parties.  

This National Election attracted total 20 political parties, including the ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), Cambodian Youth Party, Cambodian Nationality Party, Khmer National United Party, FUNCINPEC Party, Khmer United Party, Grassroots Democracy Party, New Light Party, Beehive Social Democratic Party, League for Democracy Party, Khmer Anti-Poverty Party, Dharmacracy Party, Republican Democratic Party, Our Motherland Party, Khmer Rise Party, Khmer Economic Development Party, Khmer Will Party, Khmer Republican Party, Reaksmey Khemra Party, and Cambodia Indigenous People Democracy Party.

Samdech Hun Sen, President of the CPP casts his ballot at Kandal Pedagogy School in Takhmao city, Kandal province; Samdech Heng Samrin, CPP Honorary President, in Ponhea Krek district, Thbong Khmum province; Samdech Say Chhum, Senate President and CPP Vice President, at Wat Koh High School in Phnom Penh; and Mr. Kong Monika, President of Khmer Will Party, at Sothearos Primary School in Phnom Penh.

Those contestant political parties will compete for 125 of the National Assembly up from 123 in previous election.

The fifth legislature National Election was held with eight political parties in 19,009 polling stations with some 40,433 local and international election observers and 54,226 representatives, both titular and alternate, from seven of the eight political parties.


No photos has been attached.