Retired judge Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof speaker of parliament, Nga Kor Ming likely the deputy

PETALING JAYA, Malaysia (Sin Chew Daily/ ANN) - Candidacy of Dewan Rakyat, the lower house of parliament takes a dramatic turn as retired judge Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof  has been proposed to be the speaker instead of Johari Abdul as decided by the heads of political parties under Pakatan Harapan on Monday night. Nga Kor Ming and Noorita Sual, both members of parliament under DAP, are likely to be the deputy speakers.

 The selection of speaker of lower house in parliament takes a dramatic turn where the Pakatan Harapan-led government Is likely to appoint a retired judge, Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof, from Parti Amanah Negara, who is not a member of parliament, as the speaker of Dewan Rakyat.

Teluk Intan MP Nga Kor Ming, who has not been included in the Cabinet list, is likely the deputy speaker. 

It is learned that the meeting of five giants under Pakatan Harapan on Monday night had finalised the candidates for both speaker and deputy speakers where Datuk Johari Abdul, the Sungai Petani MP from Parti Keadilan Rakyat. (PKR)

Another two deputy speakers are Nga Kor Ming from DAP and Tenom MP Noorita Sual from Sabah.

Latest information pointed out that Johari Abdul was changed at eleventh hour as his appointment may affect Kedah state powers.

“Johari is also Gurun state assemblyman in Kedah. He would have to resign from the state seat to be the speaker. This may affect Kedah state government. Pakatan Harapan is unwilling to take the risk and Mohamad Ariff to replace him instead. 

Article 57 (4) of the Federal Constitution states that for state assemblyman to be the speaker of Dewan Rakyat, he would have to relinquish his position as state assemblyman.

Pakatan Harapan won Kedah state government in the General Election on 9 May. It formed state government with 18 seats while PAS won 15 seats and Barisan Nasional three seats. The hung state assembly was resolved with two Umno state assemblymen supported the appointment of Menteri Besar and speaker of state assembly. 

Mohamad Ariff is not a member of parliament but the disciplinary head of Amanah.  

He retired as Court of Appeal judge in 2016 and seen as a neutral judge without siding any political parties. 

Article 57 (1) (a) of the Federal Constitution states that the speaker of Dewan Rakyat need not be an elected member of parliament but mandatory for deputy speakers.

With change of candidacy for speaker, candidates for deputy speakers may be affected too as one of the two deputy speakers may be reserved for PKR. 

The Dewan Rakyat, lower house of the parliament is scheduled to convene from 16 July to 16 August. Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad is likely to announce the candidate for speaker soon.