TISL reports eight ministers to Bribery Commission for failing to declare assets

COLOMBO (The Island/ANN) - Transparency International Sri Lanka files complaint with the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption over eight ministers failing to declare assets.

Transparency International Sri Lanka (TISL) filed a complaint with the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption (CIABOC) yesterday, citing information obtained through the Right to Information Act, which shows that eight members of the Cabinet of Ministers had not submitted their Declarations of Assets & Liabilities for 2018/19, as at Aug 20, 2019, TISL said. 
It states: Cabinet Ministers are required to submit their declarations to the Presidential Secretariat under section 4(a) (ii) of the Declaration of Assets and Liabilities Law. However, according to the Presidential Secretariat’s response to an RTI application filed by TISL on 28 August 2019, eight Cabinet Ministers had not submitted their asset declaration as at 20 August 2019.
The eight ministers are: Navin Dissanayake, Harin Fernando, Mano Ganesan, M.H.A. Haleem, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Ravi Karunanayake, Gayantha Karunathilaka and Sajith Premadasa.
TISL stated that the non-declaration of assets and liabilities amounts to an offence punishable by a fine not exceeding USD 5.54 and/or a prison term of up to one year.
Speaking after filing the complaint, TISL Executive Director Asoka Obeyesekere told media: "whilst several members of parliament have already gone beyond legal requirements to publicly disclose their asset declarations (available at www.tisrilanka.org/MPassets), it is important that those who have neglected their responsibility are held to account".


No photos has been attached.